Summer school term dates and school holidays

  • summer term ends on Friday, 21 July

Autumn school term dates and school holidays

  • term starts on Monday, 4 September
  • half term from Monday, 23 October to Monday, 30 October
  • term ends on Tuesday, 19 December

2018 school term dates and school holidays

Spring school term dates and school holidays

  • term starts on Wednesday, 3 January
  • half term from Monday, 12 to Friday, 16 February
  • term ends for the Easter school holidays on Thursday, 29 March

Summer school term dates and school holidays

  • term starts on Tuesday, 17 April
  • schools are closed on Monday, 7 May for the early May bank holiday 
  • half term from Tuesday, 29 May to Tuesday, 5 June (schools are closed on Monday, 28 May for the spring bank holiday)
  • summer term ends on Friday, 20 July

Autumn school term dates and school holidays

  • term starts on Tuesday, 4 September
  • half term from Monday 22 October to Monday, 29 October
  • term ends on Wednesday, 19 December

2019 school term dates and school holidays

  • term starts on Thursday, 3 January
  • half term from Monday, 11 to Friday, 15 February
  • term ends for the Easter school holidays on Friday, 5 April

Summer school term dates and school holidays

  • term starts on Tuesday, 23 April
  • schools are closed on Monday, 6 May for the early May bank holiday
  • half term from Tuesday, 28 May to Friday, 31 May (schools are closed on 27 May for the spring bank holiday)
  • summer term ends on Friday, 19 July

More information can be found on the Central Beds website 

Holidays in Term Time

The law says that parents/carers do not have a legal right to take their child out of school for holidays in term-time.  Headteachers may not grant any leave of absence unless there are exceptional circumstances. 

If parents take their child on holiday in term time without permission this will be counted as unauthorised absence and noted on their record – this is the same as truancy and you may be at risk of a Penalty Notice being applied.  The Penalty Notice is £60 per parent per pupil and if it not is paid within 28 days this will increase to £120. Failure to pay the full amount within 28 days will result in a summons to appear in the Magistrates Court on the grounds that you have failed to ensure your child’s regular attendance at school.

Exceptional circumstances could include:

  1. Service personnel returning from a tour of duty abroad where it is evidenced the individual will not be in receipt of any leave in the near future that coincides with school holidays
  2. Where an absence from school is recommended by a health professional as part of a parent of child’s rehabilitation from a medical or emotional issue.
  3. The death or terminal illness of a person close to the family 
  4. To attend a wedding or funeral of a person close to the family 
  5. Where it is company/organisational policy for an employee to take leave at a specific time in the year and there is no opportunity for a family holiday in school holidays. This must be evidenced by production of the policy document of the organisation

 

Back to top